The Royal Institute of Philosophy is an educational charity and a company limited by guarantee. Its policies are determined by a large Council, which also appoints the Executive Committee.  The Executive Committee members are trustees of the charity and serve on the editorial board of the Institute's journals, Philosophy and Think. The Council and Executive Committee are led by a Chair, a Deputy Chair, and from time to time a President. The Executive Committee appoints three directors -- an academic director, a finance director, and a managing director -- who together run the Institute day to day.  

Professor Maria Alvarez is Co-Editor of Philosophy. She’s Professor of Philosophy at King's College London, having previously taught at the University of Southampton. She’s the author of Kinds of Reasons; an Essay in the Philosophy of Action and works mainly on philosophy of action, reasons and normativity. She’s currently working on a monograph on agency, choice and moral responsibility. 

Dr. James Garvey is Managing Director of the Royal Institute. He is editor of The Philosophers' Magazine and author or editor of several books and articles, including The Persuaders: The Hidden Industry That Wants To Change Your Mind, The Ethics of Climate Change, the Think Now Series on social and political philosophy, The Story of Philosophy, The Twenty Greatest Philosophy Books and The Bloomsbury Companion to the Philosophy of Mind


Professor Lucy O'Brien is Deputy Chair of the Council, Professor of Philosophy at University College London, and co-editor of Mind.  She is author of Self-Knowing Agents and co-editor, with Matthew Soteriou, of Mental Actions. She works on interpersonal, rather than personal, self-consciousness and the nature of the self-conscious emotions.

Dr. Julian Baggini is Academic Director of the Royal Institute. He the author, co-author or editor of over 20 books including How The World Thinks, The Virtues of the Table, The Ego Trick, Freedom Regained, and The Edge of Reason. He was the founding editor of The Philosophers’ Magazine and has written for numerous newspapers and magazines, as well as for the think tanks The Institute of Public Policy Research, Demos and Counterpoint. He is an Honorary Research Fellow at the University of Kent. 

Professor John Haldane FRSE is Chair of the Council. He is Newton Rayzor Sr Distinguished Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy at Baylor University, and Professor of Philosophy and Senior Fellow at the Centre for Ethics, Philosophy and Public Affairs in the Department of Philosophy at the University of St Andrews.  He is the author of many books and articles,  including Reasonable Faith, Seeking Meaning and Making Sense, and most recently, Anscombe: Life, Thought and Action.

Baroness Onora O’Neill is President of the Royal Institute. She is a crossbench member of the House of Lords, formerly Principal of Newnham College Cambridge, Chair of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics, President of the British Academy, and winner of the recently established $1 million Berggruen Prize. Her most recent book is From Principles to Practice: Normatively and Judgement in Ethics and Politics

Professor Bill Brewer is Co-Editor of Philosophy. He is Susan Stebbing Professor of Philosophy at King's College London, having previously taught at Oxford and Warwick, and as a visiting professor at Brown and Berkeley. He is author of Perception and Reason and Perception and Its Objects, and co-editor of Spatial Representation and The Nature of Ordinary Objects. He works on Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, and Epistemology and is currently returning to to an abiding interest in the objectivity of perceptual experience.

Dr. Stephen Law is editor of Think and formerly Head of Department and Reader in Philosophy, Heythrop College, University of London, and now Honorary Research Fellow in Philosophy at Roehampton. He researches in philosophy of mind, philosophy of religion, and metaphysics, and is the author of many popular and introductory philosophy books including The PhilosophyGym: 25 Short Adventures in Philosophy.


Mr. Tony Philip FCA is Finance Director of the Royal Institute.  He is a Chartered Accountant and has had lengthy careers in the commercial oil and charity sectors.  He also volunteers in the charity sector, currently as a trustee and as a chair.  He has served the Royal Institute for 20 years.  

Members of the Executive Committee

Professor Maria Rosa Antognazza, Professor Fiona Ellis, Dr. Yasemin Erden, Professor John Haldane, Professor Edward Harcourt, Professor Matthew Kieran, Professor Lucy O’Brien, Professor Thomas Pink, Professor Sarah Sawyer, and Dr. Rachael Wiseman. 

Members of the Council of The Royal Institute of Philosophy

Dr. Arif Ahmed, Dr. Anna Alexandrova, Dr. Charlotte Alderwick, Professor Maria Rosa Antognazza, Professor Michael Beaney, Dr. Alexandra Couto, Dr. Rowan Cruft, Dr. Joe Diekemper, Professor Fiona Ellis, Dr. Yasemin Erden, Dr. Nadine Elzein, Dr. Suki Finn, Professor John Haldane, Dr. Edward Harcourt, Professor Angela Hobbs, Professor Matthew Kieran, Professor Kristján Kristjánsson, Lizzy Lewis, Professor John Lippitt, Dr. Beth Lord, Dr. Anna Mahtani, Dr. Todd Mei, Professor Alex Neill, Professor Lucy O’Brien, Rachel Paine, Dr. Sarah Patterson, Professor Thomas Pink, Dr. Lea Salje, Professor Sarah Sawyer, Dr. Edward Skidelsky, Dr. James Wilson, Dr. Rachael Wiseman, and Professor Lea Ypi.